The Beginning

So, this is it. Andrews Arcade has been something I’ve been wanting to do for a while, but it was never really in me. I feel like I’m always doubting myself, saying things like, “you’ll never be an actual writer” or “you only chose to study journalism because you can’t seem to succeed in anything else”. Well, I am starting today by saying that I know how hard it is to doubt yourself. The pessimistic thoughts occur so often, they become all that’s left. In this moment of time everything is instantaneous. Between social media, technology, and science, breakthroughs are evidently happening daily. It’s strange though because the world moves so fast, yet I feel like every step I take traps me in a vast pit of quick sand, and the more I struggle, the deeper I dive into this bottomless pit of solitude. I want Andrews Arcade to be the hand that reaches in and pulls me into safety. I’m tired of drowning and I can only hold my breath for so long. So, let’s end it.

I’m ready to be the writer I aspire to be and this is where I plan to prove it. If you couldn’t get it from the title, Andrews Arcade will have articles that focus mainly on “geeky” interests like: video games, comics, and anime. I also put quotations around geeky because that’s how these things are portrayed by society, but I find them to be very cool. That doesn’t mean I will only focus on those interests. I want to write about music, breaking news, entertainment, sports, and personal things as well. Andrews Arcade is universal and can focus on anything because as a writer, you should never censor yourself. I guess you can think of the title as a personification on an arcade. I want anyone who comes to read my articles to just be able to feel welcome and have fun, just like going to an arcade.

I know this wasn’t an amazing first post, but I’m just getting started. I would also love to give a shout out to my boyfriend Dylan. Without him, I would have never found the courage and drive to start this blog. Throughout our entire relationship he has known how badly I wanted to start something like this, but I always said it wouldn’t work out. He has loved and supported me every step of the way and this is for him. So, this is it huh? Well, welcome to the beginning of Andrews Arcade.

8 thoughts on “The Beginning

  1. I am sooo proud of you and all that you have accomplished. You have to try in order to get what you want. It is a big step forward and nothing can hold you back but you. Looking forward to seeing your posts. I will always be here for you.
    Love you lots!!💜💜 Mom

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

